Some think that climate change reforms will negatively affect business. Others feel they are an opportunity for businesses. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Many individuals consider climatic changes detrimental for their business; however, others consider it an opportunity to grow. In my opinion, climatic change creates new business opportunities. Both viewpoints are discussed in the essay. Climate change can undoubtedly hurt businesses. For example, extreme weather conditions affect crops. A poor harvest will make farmers poorer and affect rural economies. When farmers do not have money to spend, the demand for products will decrease. It is detrimental for all businesses. Likewise, extreme rainfall or flooding may force stores to stay closed for days on end. All of these scenarios are harmful to businesses. Conversely, for many companies, the changing weather conditions are an affirmative way to grow. It is because climatic changes create new demands, and as the demands are dynamic, the organizations can grab the opportunity to provide whatever is needed. For example, in 2019, Delhi was covered with smog in October, and according to the survey conducted by the Economic Times, the sale of air-purifiers and anti-pollution masks increased by almost 100%. Likewise, insufficient rainfall increases the demand for rainwater harvesting systems. In the same way, hotter summers provide manufacturers an excellent opportunity to sell more fans and air conditioners. These examples prove that if businesses are capable of catering to the changing needs of society in the wake of climate change, they can reap rich dividends. In conclusion, although many people consider climate change as bad for their business, in my opinion, it is possible to gain substantial monetary benefits from such changes.