Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Volunteering helps in various aspects, some argue that teenagers must do volunteering in their free time and that it is beneficial to both the teenagers and their communities. in my opinion i agree, for a couple of reasons that i shall discuss. unpaid community work can be helpful to teenagers, through enabling them to learn new skills, be exposed to working environment, develop their personality and perhaps even make a career choice. although, they might complain, utilizing free time to actually be useful grants a sense of accomplishment. furthermore by filling free time with serving the society, this closes the door on harmful activities, which teenagers are the most prone to, such as crime and illicit drug addiction. similarly, volunteering has positive effects on communities. In regards to city budget, and resources as well as the public image (for example: cleaning beaches). as well as the additive effects of decreasing crime rates and addiction. the regular activity of volunteering makes a healthy community, that is active, and stable. it also helps with better outcomes for the environment, health system, and safety. in summary i wouldn’t say teens should be required, but rather encouraged to participate actively in unpaid community work.