Fossil fuels have been the main driver of economic growth for the last 100 hundred years. Explain how fossil fuels have achieved this, outline the main problems their use causes, and suggest alternative solutions.

The key to business growth for several years is fossil fuels. This essay will discuss why we use them, the problems of using them and possible solutions to these problems. To start with there are several reasons why fossil fuels are so important and make business advance. We use it in forms of coal, oil and natural gas, then transform it to electrical energy or produce petroleum that is still used by vehicles and machines. Using them constantly can cause a number of problems. Firstly, air pollution is the main problem. Every time the factories burn fossil fuels they also release the exhaust gases into the air. That can cause health problems about respiratory tract, especially among the older and children. For instance, Thailand has lots of factories that extract petroleum from natural gas. It caused air pollution in the living areas and the aged needed to go to hospital because of lung diseases. Another factor is that it releases carbon dioxide which is the key cause of climate change into the atmosphere. That is why it can lead to many problems such as flooding and global warming. The most effective way to stop this problem is alternative energy. Energy that is produced by fossil fuels should be replaced by alternative energy. These days we are having many sustainable energies from wind, solar (sun), hydro (water) and thermal (heat). All of this can generate electricity that we can use in vehicles and households. Moreover, the government can publish policies of air pollution that limit burning of fossil fuels in living areas and public areas. It can help people to avoid breathing the harmful gases. In conclusion, although fossil fuels have benefited us for many years, it can lead to a lot of problems about health and the environment. We can avoid this problem by using alternative energies instead of fossil fuels and the government should provide effective policy about air pollution.