SOME PEOPLE THINK THAT THE BEST WAY TO IMPROVE ROAD SAFETY IS TO INCREASE THE MINIMUM LEGAL AGE FOR DRIVING A CAR OR MOTOR BIKE. TO WHAT EXTENT DO YOU AGREE AND DISAGREE?

There has been a tremendous increase in road traffic accidents in the past decade. It is often argued by some that increasing the minimum age requirement for obtaining a driving license would eventually decrease the mishaps. However, I partially agree with this notion. Since age and others parameters which will be discussed in the paragraph would be required to maintain well-being on the road. Apparently, those who think obtaining a license at an elder age would incline the safety on road holds a wide range of constructive benefits. To begin with, the majority of mishappenings occurring on highways is due to the recklessness, which is being done by the young drivers. Since acquiring a license at an age of 18 does not make them mature drivers; it is the practice and complexity of understanding the driving etiquette, which makes them be able to handle a vehicle. To illustrate the case, last year it has been observed that a quarter of accidents occurred on the road is by young people between the age of 18- 22 years. Hence, it would be necessary to provide them with a licence at a further age group in order to keep roads clean of wounds and casualties. On the other hand, Some opine that stringent implementation of traffic laws and strictly obeying them would certainly help people as well as the road to gain safety. To exemplify, Chandigarh saw a noticeable dip in the number of accidents in the last two years when the central government introduced heavy fines and suspension of licenses who disobey them. Furthermore, installing speed radars and cameras on the streets and highways would make citizens scare of breaking the laws and this will make them respect the law and order on the road. In a conclusion, albeit learn to drive a car does not come with the age, though it does come with the practice that is why raising the legal age to obtain access would help eventually. However, inculcating stricter rules and installing cameras and speed radars will obviously keep rules and regulations in check amongst the people