Although families have influence on a children’s development, factors outside the home play a bigger part in their lives nowadays. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many today feel that the home no longer plays the largest role in child development. In my opinion, though outside factors have become increasingly invasive, family life is still more influential. Those who believe children these days are largely shaped by the outside world often focus on the expanding importance of technology. Decades ago, it was more common for families to engage in conversation throughout the day, at dinner, and during holidays. Today, each family member might be more engaged with their smartphone, tablet, or laptop. For example, children now have constant access to streaming video sites like YouTube. Instead of watching cartoons for an hour a day on television, they can watch shows all day long, both in and outside the home. The result is that kids often find niche channels and parents have a difficult time monitoring and keeping up with the appropriacy of their interests and influences. Nonetheless, family life remains the heart of early psychological development. Children are unlikely to have much access to new technology in their early years when researchers say the majority of personality formation occurs. If parents are strict, unforgiving and withhold their love then children begin to either turn inwards feeling rejected or strive compulsively for their parent’s esteem. These early, learned behaviours will manifest themselves in progressively more unhealthy behaviours and evolve as the child matures. Conversely, a child who is loved unconditionally but given honest feedback from their parents has a much greater chance of becoming a well-adjusted adult with strong role models to imitate. In conclusion, despite the ubiquity of technology today, family is the key catalyst in early development. Regardless of changes in society, parents will continue to be the main influence for their children in the foreseeable future.