Sugary drinks should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Drinks that have a high proportion of carbohydrates are immensely popular in all ages. Hence, a segment of society opines that high charges should be imposed on the products to discourage the consumption of sugar. I disagree with the aforementioned statement for the following reasons. The first and foremost reason is that elevating the price of sugary drinks is not the effective solution for this consumption; people especially toddlers are very fond of sweeteners like candies, slurries and other fruits juices which are packed in plastic bags. Therefore, the inflation in charges might increase another financial burden on parents; instead, folks should be informed of the side effects of high intake of sugar on health. To illustrate, the populace who intakes high carbohydrates in their daily routine might face health-related disorders like obesity and diabetes and such chronic diseases resulting in degeneration of crucial body parts. Thus, a campaign should be started by the government to make the public acknowledge regarding serious outcomes of this pattern. Another solution is that teachers should make some efforts to educate youngsters how such drinks are harmful to our health; as tutors can incite adolescents to have a healthy diet and avoid sugary products in a more effective and strategic manner than their parents. Apart from that, the government should monitor the making process of such soft refreshments like soda closely and strict regulations are put in place in order to check the quality and the proportion of added flavours and contents. Also, the percentage of added flavours and contents should be labelled properly, so that a customer should familiar with what he is inhaling before buying them. To conclude then, to curb the high consumption of sugar, the authorities and schools should make propelling efforts to educate the public and toddlers to minimise the intake of such sips respectively. The authorities must keep a close eye on the procedures, qualities and quantity of such soft drinks in order to keep their citizens safe