Some people believe that people will purchase a product based on their needs and advertising is not needed. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, marketing of each and every product is increasing. A section of society believes that individuals are buying products based on their requirements and there is no need of advertisement. I tend to agree with this view. I am of the opinion that products can be purchased on basis of necessity. Further the discourse ahead will support my stand and at the same time highlight contradictory view point that might others have. To begin with, the primary reason for my belief is that products must be bought on necessity if the advertising is removed than 90% of people buy products when they will be required because the deals and offers provided by big supermarkets grab the attention of buyers, they purchase items just by seeing the deals not by they required it. Secondly, if advertisement will be removed people will save more money because large portion of their income goes into paying bills. To illustrate, the article on buying shows that half of income individuals spending on buying different things. On the other hand, there are individuals in the society who are of the outlook that advertisement is required one of the possible reasons for this belief is that, if advertising will be stopped it will have effect on consumers of big supermarket and people who are working there. Because if people do not buy more products from their store their profit goes down, they have to face big loss in their business. To conclude, there surely are those who seems to be convinced with the fact that advertisement is needed and they assumingly have all the right reasons to back their conviction. I, however, am of the firm opinion that advertisement is not required because that lead to impulsive buying.