Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the above statement? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Increasing pollution is one of the major environmental concerns these days. Some people opine that hike in petrol prices is a good solution to control environmental damage. In this essay other measures which are efficient solutions to the latter problem will be discussed in detail in upcoming paragraphs. There are various measures which can help to reduce air pollution rather than increasing petrol prices. First and foremost is having a pollution check of vehicle, this is a technique in which level of pollution which is generated by a vehicle is monitored to be within the normal range. Even, while check if an individual has not got his vehicle checked there must be a penalty. Secondly, a specific tenure could be declared bu the government for which a motor vehicle should be used. For an instance, if a car is more than ten years old it should be banned to run on roads. Furthermore, another effective method to conrol pollution generated by vehicles is allowing vehicles to run on alternate days. This method was implemented in india in which vehicle with odd numbers were allowed to run on roads on mondays while vehicles having an even number were used on tuesdays. These technique was used in Delhi and good results were observed as air quality of the city was improved due to decreased motor combustion. In addition, the government should allure public with attractive schemes on public transport such as cheap tickets, suitable time-tables and so on to motivate them for its use owing to this people will prefer to use public modes of transportation which will decrease the number of private transportation. In conclusion, other measures are more beneficial to be adopted rather than increasing the fuel prices because it will increase the expense of common man and problem will stand still.