"Prevention is better than cure."Out of a country's health budget, a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health education and preventative measures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Better diet, preventive measures, genetic manipulation and easy assess to the health care system have increased the longevity of the general population. Therefore, it is suggested that the government should allocate more fund on health education and preventive medicine. I fully agree with this assertion, and by analysing the benefits of healthy pursuits such as better diet and regular exercise, as well as abandonment of unhealthy habits e.g. smoking, convenience food and sedentary lifestyle will prove it. It is undeniable that healthy pursuits prolong the longevity of individuals. By allocating a share sum of fund for preventive purposes, the government will not only invest in it's population but also save money which would otherwise be used to expensive treatments and lost productivity. For instance, in several research studies, a better diet has shown to reduce likelihood of physical ailments such as diabetic, heart diseases and even cancer. Not only the body metabolism increases by regular exercises, but also the levels of stress and depression alleviate. Thus, the suggestion is fully supported that a proportion of fund should be diverted on preventive measures which is additionally more cost- benificial. Although smoking habits have been declined over the last two decades because of the ban, convenience food and the sedentary lifestyle have become a ubiquitous part of this contemporary society. People are more unhealthier than ever, and there are predictions that this development only going to exacerbate in the foreseenable future. For example, the documentary, "Supersize me", reveals that unhealthy food combined with the lack of exercise seldom lead to obesity. Related diseases such as fatty liver and diabetic are some of ailments that moves in tandem with the obesity. It is well-known that obese individuals are less likely to be employed and thus constitute a greater burden to society. Hence, the government ought to raise awareness about the danger of unhealthy lifestyle through investment in health educations and campaigns. In summary, it is evident that putting money in prevention than cure is a win-win investment for everyone. I therefore agree with this proposition that the government should allocate their fund in preventive medicine rather than paying for costly treatment.