All over the world, societies are facing a growing problem with obesity. This problem affects both children and adults. What are the reasons for this rise in obesity? How could it be tackled?

Over the last few years, obesity has become a serious problem. These days, obesity affects an increasing number of both kids and mature people. Causes of overweight must be considered and addressed effectively; otherwise, societies will suffer from even greater health problems. In this essay, I will look at the causes of this issue and make some suggestions about how to tackle it. One of the main reasons of being overweight is the high intake of junk food such as hamburgers, chips, and fried chicken. Many people prefer to have a takeaway meal or pick up pre-prepared food from the supermarket, which contains high quantities of salt and fat, rather than cooking a healthy meal at home. For instance, in the UK, sales of junk food have risen significantly over the last few years. The solution is for the government to increase the sales tax on any food that is considered to be unhealthy. This would make consumers decrease their intake of this type of food and start to make a healthy portion of homemade food. Moreover, another problem is that fewer and fewer people are doing sports and exercise. This is because of the high expenses of registration in a gym. For example, the monthly fees of gyms in Australia are around 40 or 50 dollars, which is very difficult to afford for many. To address this, the government should allocate more money for sports facilities such as gyms to become more affordable. On the other hand, a person may start yoga with full dedication, if they cannot pay such money. To sum up, obesity has become a worrying issue which is affecting a wide range of age groups, due to reasons, such as working hours, cooking issues. This is a serious problem, consequently, actions must be taken straight away, otherwise, generations will face even more significant health problems. I believe the government, parents, and teachers may play the best role to control this issue.