Today, the high sales of popular goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real need of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The main purpose of advertising is to draw attention of the public towards a certain product to increase its sale. Customers are intrigued by these commercials and thus end up buying the goods no matter whether they need it or not. I certainly agree with the given statement and the upcoming essay tends to explain the reasoning behind my viewpoint. Nowadays, it is a very popular trend for people to buy any commodities they see on televisions and hoardings. There are a plethora of reasons for this phenomenon. The most significant one is celebrity endorsement, that is to say, brands u see usually hire popular actors or sportsmen for their ad campaign since they have a tremendous fan following. For instance, if a cricketer does a men's perfumes' commercial then the following day his fans will que outside stores to buy that perfume even if they do not need it. Consequently, the basic necessities, such as groceries, health care, etc. are compromised. Additionally, the advertisements are directed and displayed in such a way that the customers find it extremely appealing. For example, when a new smart phone is launched, the advertisers exaggerate the specifications to enthuse public. Although a middle-class person can not lead an extravagant lifestyle, they can not resist buying the phone. Similarly, the benefits of self-care products are overemphasised to capture public attention. People who do not have knowledge in these fields rush to buy the goods without giving it a second thought. To conclude, advertising are specialised to compel consumers to buy their commodities and unfortunately the viewers fall in this mousetrap. Therefore, I opine that the high sales of popular products reflect the power of promotions rather than the real need of the society.