Many offenders commit more crimes after serving their first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

It is believed that first punishment of offenders will lead them to proceed further crimes. In my opinion, there are two main reasons which are believed as the trigger of this behavior, prison environment and mindset change of the offenders after their first punishment. Prison social environment will strongly affect the behavior of someone newly imprisoned. People found that a new prisoner should follow the culture made by older member which determine what the new boys should do and how they behave in the prison. Sometimes, there are also dominations from certain groups of bad prisoner or gang-member which made a new-comer should follow every rules they made. It will affect the mindset of the new-comers and also their braveness in commiting further crimes in the future. As the result, prison ought to make some strict regulations to control the behavior of the prisoners. They must provide frequent positive social activities such as environment cleaning, art crafting, music festival to avoid too much free time the prisoners have which can lead to some undesired activities. Furthermore, there must be a periodical control for some people who is already released from the prison. The Authorities should make a list about what kind of activities or jobs that the people have after the get out from prison. This will help the authorities to track the ex-prisoner daily activity. In conclusion, we should keep the positive social culture in prison to keep a good mindset and behaviour of the prisoners and control the ex-prisoners activity frequently to reduce the potential of further crimes.