More and more young people from wealthy countries are spending a short time doing unpaid work, such as teaching and building houses for communities in poorer countries. What are the reasons for this? Who benefits more from this, the communities or these young people?

It is true that more youngsters in developed countries have allocated their time to do voluntary work in local communities in developing countries. There are many reasons behind this tendency, and I would argue that both local communities and people can benefit from this. There are some reasons why the young spend some time doing unpaid job for local communities in other countries. Firstly, through philanthropic activities, they can gain more experience, and they can add them to their CVs. Thus, it helps them to job-hunt in their later careers and acquires recognition for their activities at their workplaces. Secondly, some people prefer taking part in philanthropic activities, as they want to help those who are less fortunate without any reward. In addition, they want to share hardships and experience what it is like in remote places. Both the young and local communities benefit from this. In terms of the community, the young bring them their enthusiasm, knowledge, as well as physical endeavour. For example, they are strong enough to help disabled people to build new houses or renovate existing buildings. In addition, they can teach children literacy and numeracy skills. In terms of the young, by doing unpaid jobs, when they return to their home, they not only acquire more experience but also become more mature. Thus, they can live independently. In conclusion, there are several reasons why the young spend their time doing unpaid jobs. Both individuals and local communities can benefit from this, it is a win-win situation.