Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. Why is this? What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy?

Currently, electricity produced from water is used to run various appliances in a household. However, as the cost of this form of production is growing every day, energy from the sun is becoming quite a popular means in many nations globally. This essay will explain the reasons for this shift and also discuss the advantages and disadvantages of solar power. Firstly, the reason for increasingly choosing the sun's light and heat as a viable alternative is because it is easily available in many parts of the world for a certain number of hours every day. For example, in a tropical country like India, the sun shines for 12 hours in summer and around 10 hours in winter, which if harnessed and stored, will prove to be an almost inexhaustible source of energy. Hence, this is one of the main reasons for the growing popularity of this form of power. Although the energy from the sun is so easily available, it has its pros and cons. For example, the expense of generating adequate electricity from it for the use of household appliances is prohibitive, because the starting price is around 7000 USD. Similarly, another con is the space occupied by the installation on the roof of a house, which will make that space unavailable for any other purpose. On the other hand, its advantage is that the cost of traditional power utilisation for household purposes is reduced by 90%. Additionally, the effective carbon dioxide emission becomes nil when the sun is used to produce electricity. In conclusion, while the drawbacks for producing solar power are several its advantages clearly outweigh the disadvantages. Moreover, as governments have put in place several schemes to subsidise the expenditure of its production, the utilisation of solar power is rightly gaining a foothold as the most sought after source of energy for the home.