TOPIC: A love for tradition has never weakened a country, but it has strengthened nations in their hour of peril. Discuss the statement and give your own opinion.

The traditional custom is the cornerstone of a country and it should be well-preserved and transmitted to consecutive generations. It is supposed that respect for local traditions helps to invigorate a nation. In my opinion, I agree with this statement as it is an obligation of each citizen to learn and preserve his inland customs. In this essay, I shall put forth some ideas with lucid examples to exemplify my point. At first, indigenous traditions are unique features that make differences among nations around the world and the distinction of culture has captivated other people to learn and explore. Therefore, it is logical for youngsters to learn and have profound knowledge of their culture so they can promote and disseminate it to their international friends. Some governments have succeeded to promote their distinguished traditions to the world, which help them gain a gigantic profit annually. To exemplify this, the promotion of local handmade accessories and garments in Africa have aided to make African fashion become ubiquitous worldwide. Another example is the popularity of Sushi, a traditional cuisine from Japan which has become famous and uplifted the Japanese cuisine industry to a higher level. Although it is always essential to maintain the local culture, individuals should not be too conservative but open-minded to other cultural differences. Technological advancement and globalization have helped to eradicate several cultural barriers and citizens have opportunities to acknowledge other cultures and learn from each other. As a result, it is legitimate for youngsters to adapt to these international cultures to integrate effectively but still preserve the root of their cultures. In conclusion, I strongly agree that it is the responsibility and obligation of a citizen to maintain and absorb their traditions, however, it is also critical to adapt and become open-minded with other cultures.