Some people have the opinion that big shopping malls are expensive places as they offer high costs for the products which can be bought at much cheaper prices from local shops. On the other hand, some people think that such malls are absolutely the best places to visit for shopping. Discuss both the opinions and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

One part of our society believes that mega malls are looting the end-users by offering same products at high prices which are available at cheaper rates in the community markets, whereas, few are of the opinion that big shopping complexes are the appropriate place to buy anything. I am strongly in the favour of latter statement, as there is a huge difference in both the scenarios. Firstly, we will discuss about positives of shopping in malls and secondly, we will explain about the problems that persists in products available in local markets. To begin with, quality and after sale services are the top most criterias of every individual while buying a product. Every branded outlet provides alteration services as well as colour warranty of the product that they sale. These benefits also carry some costs, which certainly these brands inclide included in the product cost. To illustrate, Levi's jeans is available at Rs. 2500 but it provides replacement warranty for 6 months, which a society store cannot offer. Thus, it is evident that it's not only the product which we are buying from the large stores, but the intangible services are also annexed to it. On the other hand, buying a low quality product at slashed price from a street market is illogical if that product does not work after few days. For example, I bought a juicer from a street vendor of Rs. 200 without warranty which stopped working after 10 days. Additionally, these appliances carries a risk of fire while using, as these are not tried and tested before being sold, since these are manufactued by small vendors. Therefore, we can say that, there is a big gap between the ISI marked products available in reputed stores as compared to the ill quality products available at discounted prices. To recapitulate, it is of no doubt that prices of articles in big stores are high as compared to the community shops, but it also constitues better quality, services and safety as well which should be the first priority of every person before purchasing anything.