Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Other, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Others argue that imposing stricter punishments is vital in order to lessen traffic accidents. Meanwhile, some believe that there are other methods for road safety improvement. In this essay, I will be discussing both views and arrive at a conclusion before expressing my opinion. On the one hand, road users will develop discipline because of being afraid of punishment. For example, in the City of Manila, a contactless apprehension is being implemented, wherein violators are penalized not by police officers but by surveillance cameras. If a driver violates a traffic regulation such as speeding, he or she will receive a violation ticket directly in the mail. As a result, he or she will become more careful in using the roads next time to avoid being automatically penalized by cameras. On the other hand, there are other means to improve safety in the streets. For instance, government and non-government organizations may offer workshops that tackle defensive driving, common road signs, and proper driving etiquette. Focus on these would not only enhance the skills of the road users but would also promote awareness. Furthermore, they can exchange knowledge on the proper measures to avoid accidents. In conclusion, there is an argument on whether imposing stricter punishments or other options would effectively reduce road accidents. If drivers become disciplined and avoid committing violations, there will be fewer accidents. However, there are various seminars that people can attend to develop their skills. In my opinion, it is better to offer a wide range of measures to raise awareness of the drivers to improve safety on the road.