Social media has replaced the traditional method of communicating and people use more and more of social media to communicate and follow news and events. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

With the recent advancements in the progress of internet, social media has seen a significant rise in its use. As a result, it has drastically changed the conventional method of communication, with people using more applications to get themselves updated. However, this trend has both advantages and disadvantages which will be discussed in the upcoming paragraphs. On the constructive side, society is blessed with numerous benefits because of the presence of social media which are worth mentioning. To begin with, it is now possible to stay in contact with their families, friends and relatives around the globe with ease. With the availability of applications such as Facebook, Whatsapp and twitter, which made it easy for a user to upload a picture, state his quote and maintain relations with their closed ones relatively easy. Secondly, digitalization aids social networking sites brought global news and local events to their smart screens. Consequently, this has made citizens to access the news anytime and anywhere they want. Thereby, keeping them updated with the latest happenings around the world. To exemplify, various news authorities claimed that most of their users are now using smartphones to read news they want, rather than choosing a newspaper for that. On the destructive part, there appears to be some potential shortcoming of using social sites which has some detrimental effects. Chiefly, since people tend to over exploit the social sites by glueing their eyes on it, which leads to time less spent with their families and friends; henceforth leads to isolation from the society in which they live. Another pitfall is that the news published on social world is not genuinely researched like that of a newspaper,which requires tremendous effort by the publishers who go in depth to prevail the truth. It is only to attract masses just to lure their pockets with money. To illustrate, various fake news about celebrity deaths surface on the online media which attracts millions of eyes every year. To conclude, transforming the technique to communicate with peers and reading the news online indeed has some substantial benefits to it. In contrast, it has also led people to fall in trap with the fake news and also landed them in the world of isolation.