Some people think that cities are the best places to live. Others prefer to live in a rural area. Compare the advantages and disadvantages of living in the city to living in the countryside.

In the modern era, it has been argued that residing in urban areas compares favourably with living in the country, as city dwellers can benefit from opportunities in industrialised cities by virtue of urbanisation. Some people, however, prefer to dwell in a rural idyll. I subscribe to the theory that cities are a desirable places to live on account of their adequate amenities. The convenience of urban areas attracts more people to settle in them on the grounds that they would be offered high-quality urban living. A definite advantage is that people residing in metropolitan areas often have better access to healthcare services. Therefore, the disparity in healthcare access in cities and rural areas is one of the plausible reasons for moving to the former. Not only that, there are more educational and economic opportunities available in cities. Another positive aspect is that it seems that there is reliable public transport, which is in marked contrast to those based in the country. So hectic is the pace of modern life that most people inevitably desire to do their daily routines in a convenient way. Ergo, high accessibility to these facilities is the most powerful argument in favour of urban settlement. Notwithstanding the aforementioned positive aspects of urban life, there are some compelling reasons why some people opt to not live in those areas. Few could deny that atmospheric pollution is a pressing issue as a consequence of traffic congestion and lack of green spaces in busy cities. It stands to reason that pollution takes a toll on urban inhabitants’ health. By way of example, there is a high likelihood of them suffering from respiratory disease. Another drawback to this lifestyle is that prompts others to choose the leafy suburbs to live in the high noise levels, impacting city dwellers’ mental health, such as raising stress. Nevertheless, proponents of city life may argue that these issues are not insurmountable, and can be alleviated through introducing green taxes and tree-planting schemes. In conclusion, I take the view that the benefits of the rustic charm of life in the suburbs pale in comparison with the advantages of adequate urban infrastructure. Granted, there would be a few potential problems of urban living – predominantly health-related – but some measures can be taken to mitigate these effects.