It is now possible for scientists and tourists to travel to remote natural environment, such as the South Pole. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

With advancements in technology, researchers and explorers can now travel to remote natural environment like the South Pole. I feel exploring the South Pole has more benefits than drawbacks. For one, scientists will get a chance to conduct research on this untouched land. For instance, they can conduct research on penguins, polar bears, walruses and whales. Moreover, they can do experiments to reverse the rise in global temperature which will be a plus point for mankind. Additionally, visitors can experience extreme adventures that the South Pole has to offer. Hence, there are a lot of advantages in visiting the South Pole. However, along with numerous advantages there are some disadvantages as well. Firstly, presence of humans will degrade the natural environment of the South Pole. People change their surrounding to their own convenience which adversely affects the environment. For example, when visitors were first allowed in the Amazon Forest for jungle safari, they left plastic bags and bottles there. Secondly, in the South Pole basic amenities are not available. People will have to be prepared for all the mishappenings that nature will throw at them. Finally, as temperature there is well below 0 degrees, travelers can face serious health problems even if they take extreme precautions. The above look illustrates that though there are a few demerits in exploring the South Pole, the merits outweigh them. The research potential and the experience that South pole provides to scientist and tourists shadows the drawbacks that comes with it. Hence, it is worth exploring the south pole.