A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not well-managed. What are the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world? Do you think that the benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks?

Travelling is one of the most crucial parts of people's lives. If a question about tourists being the main income is addressed, it will be challenging for us to make a decision on this controversial issue. Some people are a firm believer in the main source of income. Others, however, have always shown intense devotion to creating problems. This essay will consider the obvious benefits and the negative effects that could occur. The first and most obvious reason is the income can distribute through the local community. A good example of this can be seen that,in 1990, Thai government launched the most successful campaign known as gastodiplomacy. They said the easiest way to win hearts and minds is through the stomach that why Thai cuisine is well known all around the world. Consequently, many tourists want to come to Thailand to try thai street food, leading to the local restaurants have a lot of income from them. Moreover, the research shows that travellers will spend more than twice on their vacations which can mean that tourism can be the main source of income driving the GDP of the country.   Despite being several advantages, tourism also has numerous drawbacks, the potential of which is creating pollution. Many tourist attractions create a lot of waste every day as can be seen in Pattaya which is the most popular place for foreigners in Thailand. There is a lot of single-use plastic in both the sand and sea which sea animals were poisoned from this trash. The rationale behind this is failing to manage the pollution so the government ought to create a campaign to raise awareness of this issue. In conclusion, benefits of travelling outweigh its this advantage because tourist will bring a lot of money to use for vacation which can distribute income to both city and countryside.