Social media such as Facebook, Twitter or Instagram has replaced face-to-face communication in our everyday life. Do the advantages of this development outweigh its disadvantages?

It is often argued that technological development has affected the communication approach of people.While some people believe that social platforms such as Instagram or Facebook have replaced face-to-face communication. I strongly believe that the drawbacks of social media outweigh the positives. This essay will depict the trends of how social platforms affect our lifestyle. Looking firstly at the positives, a significant advantage of communication through the internet social media sources is that it can provide swiftness in communication with friends and counterparts. This is because that the vast majority of the populace is online among the media platforms, where humanity is able to shoot up the breeze or make some virtual meetings within a short period of time via several clicks. For example, we see that a throng of people have installed popular social applications on their cell phones. However, there are some negative moments of virtual communication. Some members may hide their real emotions from the interlocutor, who endeavor to use some blended tools in phone programs like emojis just not to show their real emotions or omit some vital details from the person with whom they speak. Furthermore, there is another reason is that individuals tend to be isolated from the real world with all that entails. Consequently, it leads to poor mental health or concomitant depression. A good example is that the youth in the UK is so shy, and they can not communicate with their girlfriends because of the lack of emotions and knowledge. Therefore, these types may have a grueling impact on the populace. In conclusion, despite the benefit of the quickest type of communication through the Internet media applications, there are more disadvantages of isolated real world and hiding actual emotions should be also taken into consideration. (291 words)