Some people say that now we can see films on our phones or tablets, there is no need to go to the cinema. Others say that to be fully enjoyed, films need to be seen in a cinema. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Owing to increasing internet speeds and easy access to smartphones, watching movies or other categories of entertainment content on smartphones or tablets rather than cinema halls has been quite the phenomenon over the last decade. While a great number of the of the young pursues this recent phenomenon, there are still some people, including me, who zealously support the idea that watching movies is a collective experience and for the films to fulfill their purpose, going to the cinema must stay a consistent habit, particularly among both families and friends. On the one hand, the convenience of watching the latest movies that smartphones provide at the time of our choosing seems unparalleled; for instance, some would rather enjoy watching movies in the comfort of their homes since cinemas and theaters follow a rigid plan schedule which might not suit this era’s hectic lifestyles. Moreover, there’s the cheap subscription of online streaming platforms such as NETFLIX which offer a variety of choices at the click of a button; therefore, quite a few people find this trend rewarding. On the other hand, there are many zealots who still feel that movie-watching experience is best enjoyed in dark cinema halls and in the company of total strangers just like the theaters, for they believe that the cinema is the ideal place to experience the seventh art form in a collective manner; additionally, since the use of technology in movies such as 3D is rapidly growing, it is far more fascinating to watch and enjoy such films in cinema halls which are particularly equipped to both boost and improve this experience, hence persuading many people to prefer cinema halls over smartphones. To sum up everything that has been stated so far, while many people believe that the practice of going to the cinema is getting rapidly replaced by the practice of watching movies on mobiles or tablets, I strongly agree with those who feel that cinema halls will ultimately emerge victorious in this ongoing battle with smartphones, if properly equipped with technology just as they did when confronted by VCRs a few decades back.