In their advertising, business nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Content of advertisement today is full of entrepreneurs’ claims of being the “ first.” In this essay, I argue that this phenomenon is driven by increasing market competition, which, in turn, contributes positively to our society. Intense market competition forces businesses to differentiate themselves from others in the same segment, and advertising to be an “innovator” is a common means to do that. For instance, despite minimal actual variations in their appearance, sneaker brands - one of the most competitive industries - often put various “new” gimmicks, such as including the sync with smartwatch or producing with a “nano” fabric, into their products. Through these, their brands have become more recognisable by potential consumers. As a consequence, they can improve their branding, attract more consumers, and therefore increase their own market share. If those “innovative” claim can actually be realised in their products, it is no doubt that this way of marketing can be seen as a positive development. The prime example is an IT industry in the two past decades. Due to a rising competition, these companies had to innovate and develop their products every time they plan to launch their new ones. Those who did turned themselves into “giants” of the industry; those who did not fail to survive. Thanks to this, today we can witness a great leap in technological advancement. Rising market competition forces entrepreneurs to become more innovative in order to secure and gain their own market share. This, undoubtedly, can be perceived as a positive development since it brings about novel innovation to our society. Positing that this trend will continue, we can optimistically look forward to more innovative consumer markets in the future.