In some countries there are more young people choosing to enrol in work-based training instead of attending university. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, more and more young people in some countries are likely to apply for a job training rather than enrolling university. However, I strongly believe that the drawbacks of choosing to work overweigh the benefits. The positive aspect of doing a job is that young people could learn from a real working situation. This is because during a on-the-job training period, they could face many problems which are never teach in a classroom and they have to solve these by themselves. Although training a job instead studying university has the plus point, it has several downturns. To begin with, young people who do not enroll university will never obtain various basic skills. A university provides different subjects and compolsary skills for students, not only for their future career but also for their daily life. University students could have more qualification which most employers look for. For example, many university in Thailand force students to attend various language courses in the first year. Another drawback is that working young people are likely to have less friends in different careers. To explain, university students have more chance to make a connection with other people through classrooms, clubs and so on. It is not limited to have only same career friends. For instance, there are students from various faculties in a sportclub. It is a good opportunity to keep in touch with them. In conclusion, this essay feels that the cons of working instead studying university clearly outweigh the pros. Some of advantages are that get various skills and having more friends.