The probability of an offender committing a crime after serving the first punishment has increased. What is the reason for this and how can this problem be tackled?

Offenders who are released from prison after serving their first sentence are more likely to resort to committing crimes again. There are a number of reasons for this, and will suggest ways to solve this problem in this essay. Firstly, I will discuss how counselling and education could help prisoners to reform. Secondly, I will share how money and finances can lead people to commit crimes again. Firstly, when people are in prison they often do not receive any counselling or assistance with education to help improve their ways of thinking. This means that mentally the criminal does not change or develop whilst locked up. One solution for this problem could be to give access to lots of educational facilities to the prisoners whilst in jail. As a result of this, once the prisoner is free from prison, they will be able to have a positive impact on society and not commit any further crimes. Also, education will help the person to find a good job and feel less pressure to not commit crimes. Secondly, financial reasons often could cause people to recommit crimes and make an early return into jail. When people leave prison they are often left in a difficult financial position which could lead them to stealing or commit other crimes to raise money. The government should create jobs that are readily available for ex-criminals to work in – especially if they can help people in the community. This solution has two great benefits. The person who has left prison can earn money to secure themselves and also can help the community feel valued. To conclude, effective counselling, skill development sessions and a structured rehabilitation program will help in the first time offenders from getting misguided into committing crimes again.