Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end hunger and poverty, while others say that economic growth is damaging the environment so it must be stopped. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The industrial revolution has been instrumental in improving the quality of life for a large section of the world population. But it has not been able to catch up with the ever-increasing population that has more than doubled in the last half a century. In this essay we will discuss specifically how lack of growth aspirations of nations deprives its citizens of means to feed itself and how too much of it causes environmental impact for the next generation. To begin with, we should understand that the immediate solution to the hunger problem is by alleviating people from their poverty. This can be done by creating employment opportunities through the introduction of free-market policies by the government which can help incubate new businesses and also existing businesses to thrive. It is clearly a win-win situation all around because it is an organic way to solve a systemic problem. On the other hand, traditional means of growing food such as agriculture and horticulture will have to be scaled to meet the growing demand of the population. This will mean acquiring land through deforestation and creating new water systems by building dams. Although this would create employment opportunities for the local people, it will also affect the environment because the flora and fauna will be completely destroyed. The entire ecosystem that depended on them will also vanish over a period of time affecting the future generations and subjecting them to unknown challenges. To sum up, today's generation has to make sure the economy continues to grow such that earning opportunities are available for everyone. But at the same time, it also has to ensure that investments are made in inventing technology that will reduce dependencies on natural resources which cannot be replenished as fast as we consume them.