Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What are the reasons? What are the effects of this on society and families?

There is an increasing proportion of people who choose to have a child at an older age. There are various reasons for this trend and this has both positive and negative impacts on families and society. Delaying the childbirth has many positive effects on families and society. First, people have enough time to collect money for preparing facilities for their child. People should have some criteria before becoming parents and one of them is financial ability so they can analyze their affordability and if they don’t have enough money for buying milk powder or diaper for their child it is better to deter having a child. Second, couples who have marital problems can make their decision whether they want to continue or get divorced. Divorcing parents can cause irreversible effects on their child so having a child later can prevent children from having a big issue in their life. However, we can’t overlook the drawbacks. In terms of the downsides of having a child later, the most important negative effect is that it can heighten the risk of infertility among mothers and mental and physical problems among children. For example, children may suffer chromosome problems such as down syndrome. In addition, as the parents delaying their childbirth, they are not as patient as before and they prefer to be in quiet places instead of hearing their child ’s screams so this can lead into conflicts between family members. In conclusion, I would argue that merits of having a child later eclipse the downsides and physical or mental problem and preventing children from family issues are some of its harmful and beneficial impacts.