Fossil fuels ( coal, oil, natural gas ) are the main sources in many countries, but in some countries the use of alternative sources of energy ( wind energy and solar energy ) is encouraged. To what extent do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Although fossil fuels such as coal, oil or natural gas are extensively used as the most crucial sources in many parts of the world, there has been a development in the use of renewable sources of energy like wind energy and solar energy in some countries. Despite certain limitations which this tendency can bring at first, I firmly believe it would have positive impacts in the long term. On the one hand, shifting towards alternative energy sources will put a great burden on the economy of several nations, especially developing ones. This is because, in order to exploit such kinds of energy like wind or solar energy, the government will be required to equip cutting-edge technology and modern machines, which can cost an enormous amount of money from the national budget. As a consequence, this will exert negative effects on the investment in other vital sectors, for example, healthcare or education. On the other hand, there are numerous reasons proving that spending on alternative energy sources is a positive development. First and foremost, these kinds of energy sources would help to cut down on harmful emissions discharged into the environment. It is undeniable that coal, oil or natural gas are part of the main pollutants as they contain large amounts of CO2 which are often released by private vehicles, factories or industrial zones. Therefore, replacing those energies with wind or solar power would be an environmentally friendly solution to environmental issues. Second of all, the money spent on alternative energy sources would be a sustainable investment. This is because, in the not-so-distant future when overpopulation is a problem facing the world, fossil fuels might run out; as a result, it would pose a threat to other vital sectors. The use of wind or solar energy would effectively reduce the dependence on fossil fuels. To sum up, despite the problem of the cost of modern equipment, I still hold a belief that the switch from fossil fuels to renewable sources of energy would have long-term positive changes in the future.