In some countries, many more people are choosing to leave nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

The number of one-person households is increasing exponentially in developed countries such as Japan and Korea. It is a significant societal change comparing to the past, when family members within three or four generations often lived together. However, I firmly believe that this is a harmful development worsening our mental healths and taking away the ability to take care for the elderly. First of all, people become more vulnerable to mental illness when they live by their own. People, especially young ones, are busy and have to face of lots of pressure everyday. When they have no one to share their thoughts and feelings, it can spriral down to depression and even suicide. Thus, living alone takes a tremendous toll on our mental healths. Moreover, elderly suffers from various issues when they live alone, either with or without stable incomes. In Korean, old people are often not financially supported by the government. And, it is not uncommon to see Korean grandmas have to collects trash all day to be able to feed themselves. While in Japan, where old people have sufficient savings, they may pass away alone for months before anyones notices. Hence, the increasing trend of living alone is doing more harm than good for the older generation, who have already sacrificed a lot for us. In a nutshell, as one-person household leading to mental health illness and neglectance reflectance of old generation, it is obviously not a social improvement. In the future, government should decentralize workforce so that people do not have to live away from their family members. They can also promote share house or other community-based living styles, so we people can live and take care of others.