Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people consider that obliging young adults to volunteer for community services during their free time will have a positive impact on the growing children and the community in the same time. I strongly agree with this opinion, and this essay will state the reasons for my view. Unpaid social service has a plethora of merits on children, it is essential in forging their personnality. In other words, it will strengthen their self-esteem, by putting the children in situations where they have to take decisions on their own and solve their own problems, and thus, will increase their sense of independence. Moreover, it wil improve social relations between individuals of the same community, which also has a positive effect on the growing adult's personnality. As an example, a research, published in a well known journal, has compared the quality of the social life of two groups of teenagers. In the first group, the children were incorporated in community work, while in the second group, they were not. Results came out in favor of the beneficial effect of community work. Therefore, it is important to integrate growing children in social services. On the other hand, volunteering has positive influence on the community. First, more work can be achieved when a large part of human resources are operating together. Second, more help will be offered to elderly and people in need. Hence, having young adults taking part in social work, is beneficial for the society. In conclusion, children are the backbones of the society, their participation in community work is of utmost importance and plays a crucial role in their personal development and in the growing society.