In many societies in the world, the population is ageing rapidly and this is leading to an unsustainable increase in the cost of public healthcare. A nation’s population should pay for their healthcare provision in the future. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

I don’t agree that a developed nation should pay for the healthcare provision of its aging population, as this will lead to bankruptcy for that nation. Even though there are many advantages to providing free health care for every citizen, such as protecting the health of poor people, the current health care system is too expensive to provide it without charge to everyone as they grow old in the future. As countries become more highly developed in their economies and social support systems, families have fewer children and the population as a whole begins to age. There is an economic reason for this trend, in that rural and agricultural based economies require a lot of farm or factory labour, and having many children can prove to be an economic advantage as their wages often contribute to their family’s wealth. Because these countries have lower GDP’s, they can only afford basic health services for their people, and whether it is free or requires payment, there is usually a sufficient base of productive workers who are earning money and paying taxes to pay for their health care systems. The problem lies with developed countries whose health care systems are more technologically complex and whose personnel are more highly trained and paid. This leads to a prohibitively expensive care system in these developed countries with low birthrates and a much smaller pool of workers paying taxes to pay for the health care of large numbers of aged people who are retired and not contributing to the tax base. In this situation, the country will soon find healthcare costs spiralling out of control while at the same time the number of workers paying taxes decreases. In addition, older people usually have more health problems and longer hospital stays, which only compounds the entire problem for rich countries with aging populations. The obvious solution to this problem is to reduce the need for a health care system in the first place. Many poor and underdeveloped countries don’t have many western-style hospitals because they have community based healers who use herbal remedies and therapies that they can afford. The overall health of these nations, as long as they are not at war or suffering from a natural disaster, is often better than that of developed countries when counting rates of cancer, heart disease, which are the leading causes of death in the developed world. This trend can also be attributed to a less polluted environment in these mostly pre-industrial societies, as well as healthier diets and more physical activity. Industrial societies could practice preventative medicine, including eliminating junk-food and encouraging physical fitness, to increase the health of their populations and achieve savings. Also, if developed countries returned to natural healing and remedies instead of technological ones they could greatly reduce the costs involved and easily afford to provide free care for everyone.