Rising university fees and limited employment prospects for graduates have led some people to say that universities should not teach arts subjects, like philosophy and history, and should only offer practical degree courses that maximise chances of employment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is currently an ongoing discussion that derives from the increasingly high bills that universities charge to their pupils. However, claiming to remove art-related education would surely be a wrong approach to the issue. One of the main student’s assertions is that pupils coming from technical backgrounds are required to learn humanistic subjects but the reverse case is out of the discussion. This, together with the outrageously high fees that universities charge for each subject may discourage many aspiring learners to even apply for a course. Potential professionals should have instruction in certain areas such as languages and ethics regardless of their area of knowledge. What’s more, such subjects are of paramount importance for a well-rounded personality and the development of analytical thinking. For example, often doctors are required to willingly sacrifice their time for the wellbeing of their patients. A strong moral and sense of purpose is needed for such an effort. Some art-related courses like music and drawing are not taught to the detriment of the graduate’s time. As a matter of fact; it’s proved to stimulate learning-related areas in the brain that actually increase the rate at which students acquire new concepts. For example, instrument players are usually better at subjects like mathematics and physics. On the other hand, a high rate of subjects that are not related to people’s field of study may cause burnout in students. Furthermore, fees could be reduced by eliminating some courses and focusing on the essential ones. However, the reader should not mistakenly fall to the conclusion that this definition concerns all humanistic topics. On the contrary; some of them are as essential as the core courses of the degree. In conclusion, I wholeheartedly believe that degrees should focus on their main field of study but by no means should art subjects be removed altogether from their academic program.