In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Today’s world is becoming faster with the technology in the means of transport advancements. In most parts of developing countries, people believe investing in present public facilities for transportation is the best solution, yet it is not a good solution on spending a lot on transportation systems which are already happening in faster commuter lines. On the one hand, increasing the funds on maintaining or improving public transportation is essential and present common means of travelling has come to a state of repairing due to the heavy usage. For instance, the general travel options such as busses, railways, and bicycle paths are frequently used by many residents and due to that the amount of time that can be spent on regular maintenance is lesser, yet these should be modified by providing better facilities. Thereby, it confirms that developing presently available facilities is a much more efficient way of increasing the demand for utilization. On the other hand, investing in inter-city trains with faster routes will give more benefits in terms of cargo and passenger transport. As an example, new means of electric track will give passengers to travel faster with a lower rate compared to airlines and most of the time there will be fewer waiting hours which cannot be received at an airport with all the security checkups and boarding durations. For any country, improving present facilities will be cheaper than spending a larger amount of money to implement faster railways. Therefore, it is evident that the economy of the country can be developed by investing in express railroads. According to my perspective, expenditure on faster railroads should be carried out parallel to the development of existing infrastructure since 90% of people often use public transport to fulfil their everyday requirements. However, the faster rails are mostly used in the logistic aspect with less passenger service. Therefore, the best solution is to invest in both express railroads as well as available infrastructure development. Present days governments are more concerned about connecting longer destinations, for achieving economic growth. Improving both the public transportation systems and express trains can help a country thrive. In conclusion, in most of the government’s considerations and their economic power, there will be fewer chances in developing both public and express trains at the same time. If countries can achieve a better economy the means of faster transportation, they can eventually reserve funds for existing infrastructure development which is essential in providing better living for their residents