More and more schools allow fast food restaurant to sell their products to their students. Is this a negative or positive development?

With the rising in youngsters’ demands, many educational institutes have permitted junk food restaurants to sell their food items to pupils in recent years. While I agree that this tendency may result in a range of drawbacks, I think that it also has the following good points. On the one hand, having fast food sold in the school’s canteen can benefit individuals in several ways. Firstly, eating fast food can provide students energy during break time. This could give them an opportunity to recharge their batteries and continue their study in the next lesson. Secondly, it is economical for the school governors to have fast food stores on campus. They can gain an amount of money investing in school development and facilities if the canteen sells more food to students. On the other hand, it is no doubt that excessive consumption of fast food can destructively impact teenagers’ health in significant ways. The most obvious is that students who eat too much food high in fat and sugar are at a higher risk of various severe health-related issues, such as obesity or cardiovascular diseases. According to recent studies, more than fifty per cent of children in the metropolises are suffering from obesity due to the rapid increase of fast food sold on their schools’ campuses. Another disadvantage is that those who consume a large amount of fast food can easily have a lack of essential vitamins and nutrients. As a result, they may deal with imbalanced eating habits, leading to reduced immune systems and chronic diseases. In conclusion, nowadays, there is an increasing number of schools that give permission to fast food outlets to sell their products to students. From my viewpoint, despite the advantages this trend could have, I believe that it is inadvisable for schools to introduce these restaurants.