Some people think that all lawbreakers should be put into prison, while others believe that there are better alternatives. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

These days, we have witnessed various crimes in modern society. Opinions are divided on whether imprisonment is suitable for every criminal or whether there are some other forms of punishment that could be effective. From my perspective, flexible solutions should be taken under different circumstances. On the one hand, imprisoning dangerous offenders is believed by some to be the most valid measure. First and foremost, it is obvious that all lawbreakers are dangerous for the residents in several aspects, so that prisons will help educate them as well as guarantee the safety of society. This is because sentencing citizens who embarked on a path of crime to prison would rehabilitate them by implementing rehabilitation programs. As a result, these criminals will not only be able to reintegrate more quickly into society when they are released, but also be aware and regret their lawbreaking. Secondly, long prison sentences will act as a deterrent and then a useful tool to tackle the problem. This method would hamper offenders from the cycle of reoffending, and in the long term, could gradually reduce the alarming rate of crime. On the other hand, there are several advocates of the idea that there are better methods to solve the issue. Firstly, the government should take flexible measures to be soft on petty crimes. For instance, juvenile delinquents who commit minor crimes like pick-pocketing should be sent to reform schools, where they are taught about the danger and catastrophic consequences of committing crimes. Moreover, serving non-custodial sentences such as probation orders or community services in certain time could also keep these criminals on track. Secondly, the government should invest the national budget to build free vocational schools for probationers or lawbreakers who get engaged in minor crimes. This means that these offenders will still be under arrest as well as re-educated seriously in order to have a stable job and guarantee an acceptable standard of living in the long term. This, eventually, would benefit both society and these offenders in significant ways. In a nutshell, despite acknowledging why people think imprisonment is effective in every case, I hold the belief that those criminals can receive various punishments which are more beneficial for our society.