Write about the following topic: Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is believed by some that universities ought to equip graduates with information and characters required at a job, while others believe the exact operation of an institute should be to afford knowledge for themself, without any due consideration of its usefulness to an employer. I believe the main responsibility of a university includes imparting knowledge to its students, so, that they can be useful and productive members of society. The role of universities is debatable and on the one hand, it is opined that universities play a pivotal role in the upbringing of its students in all respects. Institutes teach them the requisite skills and enable them to be a breadwinner for the family. For example, in a Medical university students learn principles of medicine, which they practice in their career as a medical professionals. Nevertheless, it is also believed that universities should only support in accessibility of the learning resources for their self-grooming. Universities should have a balanced approach in making students realize their true potential. This can be achieved by a multifactorial approach including imparting true knowledge as well as skills. This approach will harness the true potential of youth. In addition, universities have a vital role in character building and not only the skills. Hence, they can persuade youth to develop in all respects, which are mandatory to prosper. In conclusion, universities should aim at producing people with balanced personalities, who possess the necessary knowledge and skills to be successful in their lives.