In many countries, the tradition of families having meals together is disappearing. Why is this happening? What will be the effect of it on the family and society?

Being around family has historically played an integral role in individual’s existence. As for now, more and more people fail to connect with their kin and spend some time together at the dinner table and this behavioral shift impacts the way we all live. It figures, that the urge of younger people to move away from home largely contributes to the loss of this tradition. Oftentimes, it is the opportunities of large cities that attract youth and that is why being on your own can be associated with success, while strong ties with family can become a signal of immaturity. Another reason is that at the time of rapid economic growth one tends to focus on personal gain, strives for a more respected position in society. Consequently, people no longer regard themselves as a part of a community, but more so as individuals, and, ultimately, neglect relationships. However, family bonds have always been the key instrument for passing on cultural values, knowledge and experience. Their significance lies beyond just families as it connects generations, nations and even humankind. Thus, losing close relationships with our next of kin exacerbates our cultural and historical awareness. More than that, it makes us blind towards other people as we focus less on ameliorating the world and more on solving personal problems. All in all, even though the state our society is currently in requires separation for individual success, failing to share at least some time with ones’ family over a meal regularly is tantamount to leaving behind age-old traditions and cultural values.