The crime rate in urban areas is usually much higher than in rural areas. Why is this? What can be done to address the problem of crime?

In recent times, it has been evidently witnessed that their is surge in the crime rate in cities, in contrast to countryside areas. There are several reasons for this and to ameliorate the issue certain steps can be taken in this direction which will be explicated in this essay. The first and foremost reason for surge in the criminal activities is soaring population. In other words, with the rise in number of people in cities there will be hike in the unemployment rate which cannot be seen in case of underdeveloped places. Indeed, individuals of developed regions have a desire to live an opulent lifestyle, but due to work constrain they opt illicit ways to earn money such as theft, burglaries, murder and many more to mention. Whereas residents of rural regions believe in sober living. For example, a data obtained from police headquarter reveals that 78% crimes are comitted by youngsters to full fil luxurious desires of their live in partner. Thus, a keen to live luxurious lifestyle as well as lack of job opportunities add fuel to the fire. To curb the issue, there should be implementation of stringent laws so that it would create fear in mind of person prior to commencement of any sort of henious crime. Moreover, there should be a restraint on population of immigrants as majority of urban population comprises of immigrants. Apart from this, adjacent areas of cities can be developed to generate employment opportunities. For instance, the areas in vicinity of Noida are developed to cater the needs of growing population eventually, causes the decline in the crime rate. Therefore, formation and implementation of rules and extension of cities are some of the remedies to mitigate the problem. In compendium, to reduce the unlawful act norms should be implemented and job opportunities should be created by government to reduce unemployment ratio.