Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (For example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are few people who feel that academic studies should be focused on improving professional skills as they are crucial, in order to have a bright future. Others, however, believe that we should also perform our responsibilities such as helping the needy people, making donations, or even educating the poor kids who can not afford their tuition fees. I completely agree with the latter statement and in this essay, I will support my view with examples. One of the major advantages of participating in extracurricular activities is building your personality. While searching for a job, a candidate's personality plays a crucial role in securing a role. If a job seeker's resume is filled with co-curriculum activities then they have higher chances of being suitable for the requirement as compared to the other applicants. Moreover, being responsible citizens, it is our duty to contribute our knowledge and wealth to society. One such example is teaching the kids who are from a poor background as this will help the world to educate and decrease illiteracy and we can work for an NGO or make donations for many helpless people. For example, there are many organizations that assist communities during natural disasters. Whoever, while doing this we are spreading positivity into the world and setting examples for the new generation. On the other hand, we can not negate the negative aspects of including such tasks. While fulfilling other duties, a teenager might get distracted from his goals and start investing his valuable time in these activities. Being high school students, we are already surrounded by assignments, exams, and interviews. In such a scenario, they should utilize their energy in the right sources. Additionally, many advise that these activities should be considered as optional work and should be given less importance. In recent years, it has been proven that those who do score good marks in their academics are less involved in extra-curriculums. In conclusion, I strongly think that these unpaid community services should be an optional subject of high school studies, to allow school kids to focus their studies.