People believe that there should be fixed punishments for each types of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both view and give your own opinion

It has long been an issue how to decide the punishment for every crime cases. Some might say there should be defined punishment for all crimes by categories while others may think we it is better to get conclusion considering the background and reason of each crime when we finilize the punishment. This essay will discuss both views and the reason why I believe that people should define the punishment each by each, based on the situation. On the one hand, it may be very easy to conclude the punishment if it is fixed in advance by crime types. No matter who judge a crime case, the result should be exactly same unless the category of the crime is well identified. However, there might be risk for us to give too heavy or light punishment without checking the circumstances and motivation of the crime. For example, one drives car too much fast because he or she likes driving like a professional while other do it to meet their lovers in danger in a hospital, could they be punished at the same level? On the other hand, some adovocates that we should consider the situation and reason of each crime when we give someone the punishment for their guilty. It is primarily because there is strong possibility that story of it is unique and the law, defines the punishment, cannot cover all of possible scenarios. One good example is that in case an auto driven car with sleeping driver causes an accident for the first time, it must be tough to use fixed punishment since it's totally new. In addition, there is always range of punishment described in the law and to decide the final result, we need something that can be used for the discussion in the court. In conclusion, even though there is opinion that there should be well defined punishment for each types of guilty, I believe the upsides of considering each situation of crime will outweigh the downsides.