Most large companies nowadays operate multinationally. To what extent multinational companies have responsibility toward local communities in which they operate?

In today's society, one can see transnational organizations like Coca Cola, Samsung and KFC everywhere. A segment of society believes that these enterprises should have certain responsibilities towards the local communities. I personally believe that they should bear social and environmental responsibilities. The following paragraphs will highlight my opinion along with relevant examples. To commence with, the primary responsibility of international organizations towards the residents of the country in which they operate is to ensure fair monthly payments. Companies should not exploit their employees, instead, they should offer social benefits and an adequate salary to have a good quality of life. Moreover, transnational enterprises can provide training and educate the local staff to advance their skills, it may be beneficial for both local communities and businesses. For example, as a result, a skilled workforce can be more productive and flexible with tasks. Adding further, transnational organizations should ensure that the environment in which they operate is safe. Manufacturers should ensure that they are not polluting water and air by releasing toxic chemicals, treating the waste and not releasing gasses into the air. They should look for more sustainable ways to operate. For example, they can use solar energy, treat waste and constantly clean the environment. Last but not least, they should pay taxes based on their revenue and exploitation of natural resources. Subsequently, these funds can be spent on social needs by the government. To conclude, I believe that megacorporations should have social and environmental responsibilities in countries where they operate. They should pay adequate salaries, train the staff and ensure sustainable operation.