Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

People hold a conflicting view that the science of food and food preparation should be taught as a compulsory subject for students, while others think that students ' time should be allocated for major subjects. Personally, I firmly believe that the first suggestion could assist students more. On the one hand, there are some rationales why students should spend their time on crucial subjects. One of the rationales is qualification. It can be explained that many certifications, such as the SAT or IELTS, are only available through core topics. As a result, these credentials may make it easier for students to apply for future employment opportunities. Another reason is that core subjects could improve students ' knowledge. Some subjects, like math, could boost the logical intelligence of children, while others, like history and geography, can help students have more knowledge about a place or a country. However, food science and how to prepare it have emerged in some educational programs in recent years. On the other hand, for students, learning about food science and preparation may be quite advantageous. First, learning about food science could probably lead to healthier lifestyles for pupils. Students can understand whether foods are unhealthy or good by learning about the nutritional value, content, and structure of each type of food. As a result, they naturally tend to choose to consume better foods and lead healthier lifestyles. For instance, students eventually give up fast food after realizing its negative effects. Second, teaching at-risk pupils about food and cooking will help them become more self-reliant. Students who learn about food preparation could be better equipped to manage and cook food. Students may then take care of themselves without unduly depending on their parents. In conclusion, although studying core topics can have certain advantages, I think students should also dedicate part of their time to learning about food science and how to prepare for its two advantages: a healthy and independent lifestyle.