One way to reduce the problem of traffic congestion is by increasing the tax on private vehicles. Do you think this is a feasible solution?

Although a multitude of problems bothers urban citizens, traffic is the most troublesome issue faced by them in their routine daily life. Some people believe that there is no other way except rising the taxation on individual bikes and cars to retrench the soaring number of vehicles on roads. However, I personally do not agree with this opinion. Firstly, I will discuss why levying additional cess on nonpublic conveyances will not serve the purpose followed by ways to solve this annoying perplexity. To begin with, augmenting tax on people's own mode of transport will fail to decrease rush on the city roads. This stems from the fact that many latest surveys published by reputed organisations stated that the number of individuals desiring to have their separate mode of transport is on a constant rise and on its way to peak in spite of the prices of four-wheelers that have already been hiked up by companies owing to the scarcity of raw materials. This can be attributed to fears instilled by the ongoing COVID pandemic which firmly reinstated the need for social distancing in order to avoid gatherings. Moreover, the halt of buses and trains because of lockdowns issued by the government further contributed to the increasing demand. To illustrate, Hyundai India has reported a massive boom in their business in the current year due to changes in customers mindset's and opinions. Thus, people who obviously treat health as the utmost priority would not hesitate to buy a new vehicle despite escalating prices and customs duty. On the other hand, instead of excess fees, many other measures can be implemented to effectively wane this predicament. One of them is to develop parallel and link roadways by enhancing the existing infrastructure. This ultimately would result in the redistribution of motor cars resulting in reduced congestion. For example, Hyderabad witnessed a significant decline in the frequency of stagnation after improving the linking network and laying contemporary flyovers. In addition to this, several other means like the implementation of even and odd number schemes in Delhi also proved fruitful. Hence, it is up to the local authorities to choose which technology suits best. In conclusion, imposing of higher taxes will additionally burden the public. Therefore, lawmakers should consider state-of-the-art ideas to downsize this arduous plight and find a possible solution in discussion with citizen charters.