Populations in developing nations are rapidly growing, people now believe that we should turn to GM crops to increase the production of food grains. Discuss the Advantages and Disadvantages of this approach.

In contemporary times, third world countries are on the verge of food shortage owing to population explosion. It is increasingly argued that, in order to balance demand and supply, these nations must resort to using hybrid crops instead of traditional ones. In this essay, firstly, I will elaborate it's benefits and secondly, the shortcomings of the former. To begin with, plants developed using the modification of genes yield higher when compared to ancestral crops. This is due to the fact that genetically engineered products have assorted beneficial traits like resistance to pests, ability to tolerate adverse weather conditions etc., because of positive mutations selectively incorporated into them. For instance, BT-Cotton developed in gene labs substantially augmented productivity by eliminating the perplexity of insects. Hence, cultivating plants with desired qualities enhances its productiveness. In contrast, it has got its own drawbacks.The toxins present in modified seeds ultimately prove detrimental to mankind. This is because, the thing which proves lethal to Arthropods, will act as slow poison on humans due to the fact that living organisms share similar cellular structures. However, the impact is not as swift when compared to that on parasites. To illustrate, BT-Brinjal showed deleterious effects like DNA damage in both man and insect cells in molecular studies. Thus, relying on shrubs of labs can pose a serious threat to present and upcoming generations. In conclusion, the brand new concept of the modification of genetic material of flora is a double-edged sword. Therefore, this must be subjected to stringent rules and regulations and governments should come up with new ideas to compensate for the scarcity of grains.