There is evidence that inhaling cigarette smoke causes health problems not only for smoker but for non-smokers who inhale other people’s smoke. In view of this, smoking should be banned in all public places, even though this would restrict some people’s freedom and action. What are your views?

It is undeniable that smoking is harmful to health not only for smokers but also for people who do not smoke. Therefore, it should be banned to encourage people to stop smoking, although this will affect human’s rights. While I agree with this idea, I also think that we should consider the smoker’s freedom at the same time. On the one hand, smoking can cause detrimental issues. What I mean is that smoking releases toxic chemicals into the air which can cause lung cancer and fatal diseases. For those who do not smoke, it is not pleasant or healthy to smell smoke while eating in a restaurant or working in an office. Moreover, smoking also seriously affects children, not only in terms of health but also in terms of bad habits. For example, when a child sees people smoking in public places, they may think it is cool and try to immitate. On the other hand, it is argued that banning smoking in public places will affect smokers’ freedom. That is to say, they would have the right to smoke wherever they want. What’s more, many places such as bars and pubs will be affected as a significant number of their customers are smokers. The act of banning smoking in all public places will make them lose customers and alleviate their profit. All in all, although smoking has a negative impact on people’s health and should be banned in public areas, suitable places should be paid attention to so that smokers can find their own space for their enjoyment.