Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam.’ How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

over the past thirty-year, car's sells have been risen sharply and the world's cities are struggling with traffic jams. This essay will highlight the potential reasons behind this situation, why I feel this is true and also what are some potential measures government can resolve it. There are the two main reasons, why traffic jams are increasing. Firstly, social status is being loved to show - up by the people. Generally, folks want to show their luxuries life and the best way to show-up by their expensive cars, which increased so much traffic on the road because of the population there are numerous cars on the road. Secondly, in many cities of the world, public transport systems are not being great. For example, in Mumbai, the public transport system is not enough for the public due to the massive crowd in the city, so in the end, people use their own cars for travelling. These circumstances are causing a considerable amount of traffic jams in the world. Some solutions can be adopted by the government to discourage people from using their cars. first, If the government can be increased quantities and frequencies of public transport such as, buses, trains, metros etc... It will help in traffic control. For, instance, In the Germany Public transport system is amazing and for shorts, the distance they prefer cycles which is eco-friendly for the environment. Moreover, If government make strict traffic rules for example, In Delhi, the State government make rules for traffic control, which is called odd-even. In this rule, city dwellers use their own car according to their number plate. If the car plate number is odd so it will be run on odd dates such as 1,3,5 etc vice versa happened on even day. In conclusion, this essay highlighted the reasons behind this situation, happening due to social status, and a worse transport system. This essay also presenting that solutions to this issue are twofold increase public transport and make strict rules for traffic.