Environmental problems such as pollution and climate change are increasing. The government has taken measures at a global level but they have got only a few solutions. Why is it so? How can this problem be solved?

As devastating floods and terrifying wildfires are raging through the world, humans have realized that the environment has been deteriorating and people must protect this world immediately. Although governments have done something to ease the deterioration, people are still unsatisfied with their governments and think they can do more. In my opinion, this dissatisfaction may stem from governments ’ inefficiency and their policy priorities. To solve this problem, referendums can be a useful method to improve the current situation. First of all, most of the governments around the world, especially for those democratic countries, are inefficient. This is due to a strict but redundant legislative process. For example, if a country wants to enact a law, the law should be proposed by a certain number of legislators, and then the legislature will vote whether they would like to pass the law or not. After that, if lucky enough, the authority can conduct actions according to the law. This prolonged process usually takes at least a season. Another dissatisfaction with the governments is their policy priorities. Authorities care more about their performance, and they tend to focus on economic issues. Such a preference is because nationals’ life can be promptly influenced as an administrative law has been put into force. For instance, in Taiwan the government is keen to raise the basic salary because youngsters, or first -time voters in another term, whose salary on average is the least in the society, like it. Therefore. it is imaginable that a policy related to environmental preservation will be postponed until these authorities satisfy. To solve this issue, a referendum can be a good solution because of its effectiveness and efficiency. Citizens can hold a referendum on a new treaty which they think is of utmost importance to deal with a certain problem such as an environmental issue. As a referendum is passed, the government must act immediately, and there is no room for bargaining. In conclusion, as governments are less efficient and have their policy preferences, problems such as natural disasters and global warming are so difficult to be solved. Fortunately, individuals can hold referendums to offset authorities’ disadvantages.