Some people think employers should not care about the way their employees dress, but the quality at work. To what extent you agree or disagree?

Many people believe the work attire is important as same as the duties. On the other hand, some folks are in favour of that there should not be any strict rules towards the uniform. As a restaurant manager, I strongly believe the working attire of the staff needs to be strict. It helps to identify the team members from customers and also the uniform demonstrates professionalism. Firstly, how the uniform could help to provide a better service. When someone enters a corporation from the receptionist to janitor has to be easily identified. The main reason is, how could a customer identify the staff if all the team members and the customers wear the same dress code? For example, if the guest is sitting down in a restaurant and waiting to order, they will not be able to find a staff member if they are also wearing casual attire. But if the staffs wear a separate uniform then the customer will not have any issues addressing them. Moreover, when the crew has been given the freedom to wear relaxing cloth, then the employer has no power to control them. Consequently, no one can draw a fine line to indicate which clothes are to be worn and not. Even if a staff member comes to work with a pair of thongs, the employer will not be able to refrain him from work. Therefore, I strongly believe that uniforms will help any corporation to provide professional service to customers. But it should not be uncomfortable to work. Yet, again the quality of the work itself is paramount as well as the uniform.