With the pressures on today’s young people to succeed academically, some people believe that non-academic subjects at school (eg: physical education and cookery) should be removed from the syllabus so that children can concentrate wholly on academic subjects. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the difficulties that bring academic study people started to share their controversial opinions about removing non-academic disciplines such as cookery and physical education and put more focus on academic subjects. I completely agree that replacement will be more rewarding for the academic performance in the long term perspective. Firstly, i truly believe that this kind of activity can be attained in home conditions and there is no longer a need in studying them in school. In other words, they can be replaced by more crucial ones as almost every family can teach cooking or make a certain timetable to perform physical activity for their own children. Even though they were incorporated in the syllabus to give pupils time to relax, we can find other alternatives to it which do not require that amount of time. Secondly, over the past several,decades we came to put more value on solving but not creating type of testing. For instance, the widely recognized SAT reasoning test can only be passed with a high package of knowledge in mathematics and critical thinking. The thing is named creating directed subjects develop unnecessary skills for further education. Hence, it is more reasonable to pay attention to subjects that create more demand in study life. To conclude, i reckon that it does not negatively affect students performance or mental state if their timetable will be filled with academic subjects, however we certainly have to choose a proper substitute for expelled subjects as they principally function as a rest for the young pupils.